Non Boat Specific Centre Cockpit Liveaboard

Firstly, apologies if I am not following protocol or if my question rambles on in excess of general usage of the site (I am a Newbie). I have had 3 other boats but have not sailed for a year as I have been waiting for a Hip Replacement which is going ahead next week. Unfortunately, I may need to move out of our house this year and am considering buying another boat to use as a liveaboard which may seem foolhardy at 70 yrs old but I love the lifestyle of having a yacht more than actually sailing it so it will not leave harbour often or for any distance.
My interest in a Moody was parked by seeing a 1981 36 CC advertised at quite a reasonable price but in all honesty I prefer the interior layout of the later Bill Dixon designs which unfortunately are out of my price range.
Has anyone in the Assoc. any experience with doing refits and/or upgrades to the Primrose designed boats and does the layout of the GRP interior furniture bases negate alteration. I also realise the saildrive configuration as opposed to propeller shaft/gearbox routing may be restrictive.

Hi David,

As you have surmised, the grp mouldings on which the interior furniture is mounted are pretty fundamental to a boat's interior layout and serve the purpose of translating the boat shaped hull into living spaces. They also cunningly hide the bits where there would be little headroom if you were able to walk there. In structural terms, the key parts are any frames, floors or stringers moulded onto the inside of the hull, the engine bearers and the transverse bulkheads, so you need to think hard before cutting any of those parts.

Of course, anything is possible, but it won't be easy and usually reduces the boat's value, so it needs careful consideration before you act.

Peter.